You are here: American University Provost Undergraduate Education AU Core AU Core Staff and Faculty

AU Core Staff & Faculty

Photo of AU Core faculty talking with one another at round tables.

The AU Core Committee is charged by the Faculty Senate with the review, recommendation, and evaluation of all courses within the AU Core, and for activities related to the AU Core.

The AU Core Committee comprises all members of its Core Council and subcommittees. It is responsible for developing assessment timelines, processes, and guidelines for assessment of the curriculum, applying those assessments to review and approve new and continuing courses, determining transfer course articulations and other exceptions when needed, advising on other programmatic changes and faculty development as appropriate, and maintaining legacy issues pertaining to the General Education program that it replaced.

  • Cindy Bair Van Dam, Faculty Chair of AU Core Committee
  • Brad G. Knight, Director of AU Core
  • Richard Duncan, Program Manager of University College & Complex Problems
  • Izzi Stern, Program Manager of AUx
  • Becca Comfort, Senior Program Coordinator of University College & Complex Problems
  • Andrew Palmer, Program Coordinator of AU Core
  • Shaina Spann, Program Assistant for AUx
  • Diane Palmer, Program Assistant of Complex Problems
  • Danny Briley, Program Assistant of University College
  • Samuel Murray, Program Assistant of University College
  • Meklit Gebru, Program Assistant of AU Core

Chair: Cindy Bair Van Dam, College of Arts and Sciences & AU Core

Chair: Chuck Cox, College of Arts and Sciences

Chair: Jeffrey Middents, College of Arts and Sciences

Chair: Ludy Grandas, College of Arts and Sciences

Chair: Sarah Houser, School of Public Administration

Chair: Vikki Connaughton, College of Arts and Sciences

Chair: Marie Fritz, School of Professional and Extended Studies

Chair: Noemí Enchautegui-de-Jesús, College of Arts and Sciences

Chair: Michael Clayton, Kogod School of Business

Chair: Jennifer LaFleur, School of Communication