You are here: American University Human Resources AhealthyU AhealthyU Wellness Council

AhealthyU Wellness Council

AhealthyU Wellness Council

The AhealthyU Wellness Council members help communicate worksite wellness activities and initiatives that help encourage faculty and staff to adopt healthy lifestyle behaviors. Council members assist with wellness activities and evaluation of their impact to help bring about cultural changes that make the work environment more supportive of these healthy behaviors.

There are 38 council members across on- and off-campus buildings to help meet your health and wellness needs. Find your building's Wellness Council member below!

Andie Rowe

Director, Employee Wellness and Work-Life (AhealthyU), Office of Human Resources
202-885-3589
arowe@american.edu

Lauren Regal

Wellness Program Manager, AhealthyU, Office of Human Resources
202-885-3742 
lregal@american.edu

Leah Brennan

Administrative Assistant, Department of Health Studies and AhealthyU
202-885-3784 (AhealthyU)
202-885-3971 (Health Studies)
lbrennan@american.edu

Shirleyne McDonald

Associate Director Financial Aid, Office of Enrollment
202-885-6500
smcdonal@american.edu

Darien Smith

AUX Instructor and Advisor, Office of Vice Provost for Undergraduate Studies
dariens@american.edu

Donna Femenella

Course Reserves Coordinator, University Library
dfem@american.edu
202-885-3230

Fun Fact: In high school, I learned how to create glass stained items, which included making small windows, suncatchers, and lamps.

Arielle Bernstein

SR Professional Lecturer, Associate Director of Graduate Studies
arielle@american.edu

Michelle Fleitz

Systems Analyst, University Publications 
mfleitz@american.edu
202-885-5947

Fun Fact: I ski most weekends during the winter.

Maria Barry

Director of Community Relations
mariab@american.edu

Kimberly Araya

Director, University Conferences & Guest Services, Housing & Residence Life
202-885-2623
karaya@american.edu

Leanne Wright

Assistant Director, Environmental Health and Safety
pina@american.edu

Kevin Barrett

Police Captain, University Police and Emergency Management
202-885-2526
kbarrett@american.edu

Fabiola Fernandez

Environmental Health and Safety Coordinator, Risk Management and Environmental Health and Saftey Services
ffernandez@american.edu

Yoo-Jin Kang

Coordinator for Alcohol and Other Drugs, Health Promotion & Advocacy Center
202-885-3384
ykang@american.edu

Jennifer Baron Knowles

Associate Director, Campus Ministries 
jbaron@american.edu

Rene Thomas

Associate Director of Graduate Studies, Kogod School of Business
rthomas@american.edu

Daniel Dehollander

Assistant Director, Career Professional Development, Kogod School of Business 
deholla@american.edu
 

Amy Trietiak

Instructor, Department of Health Studies
trietiak@american.edu

Stacey Snelling

Chair, Department of Health Studies
stacey@american.edu

Kristi Plahn-Gjersvold

Assistant Dean, Administration and Strategic Initiatives, School of Communication
kristipg@american.edu

Fun Fact: I like to hike - especially if there are coffee and snacks at the end. The best place I have hiked to date is New Zealand.

Courtney Chinn

Utilities Management Program Leader, Energy Management
cchinn@american.edu
 

Stephanie Destefano

Grounds Operations Manager, Facilities Management
destefan@american.edu

Marianne Norman

Director, Undergraduate Advising, School of International Service
202-885-1642
norman@american.edu

Shawn Bates

Assistant Professor, School of International Service
sbates@american.edu

Jennifer Arnold

Manager, Personnel & Administration, School of Professional and Extended Studies (SPExS)
jarnold@american.edu

Jennifer Tether

Assistant Director, Key Leadership Programs
jtether@american.edu

Fun Fact: I love all things crafting!

Jill Ivey

Senior Student Applications Specialist, Enterprise Systems, Office of Technology
jivey@american.edu

Tacy Lambiase

Sustainability Manager, Office of Sustainability
lambiase@american.edu

Megan Litke

Director, Sustainability Programs, Office of Sustainability
meganzl@american.edu

Chris Nasti

Assistant Director, Fitness and Wellness Programs, Recreational Sports and Fitness
202-885-6048
cnasti@american.edu

Ashley Wilson

Fitness Coordinator, Wellbess and Special Events, Recreation Sports & Fitness
Adjunct Instructor, Health Studies
ashleyw@american.edu

Ashley Ann Wallace

Operations Coordinator, University Center
202-885-3936
awall@american.edu

Jackie Garcia

Communication and Graphics Coordinator, HR Communications 
202-885-2569
jgarcia@american.edu

Shelly D'Amico

Director, HR Communications 
sdamico@american.edu

Genevieve Croteau

WAMU Human Resources Business Partner, WAMU 88.5
gcroteau@american.edu

Hannah Purkey

Program Coordinator, School of Public Affairs
hpurkey@american.edu

Kelly Mayer

Student Affairs & ADA Senior Coordinator,  
kmayer@american.edu

woman stretching in fitness class

AhealthyU Listserv

Receive notifications about wellness events that build community, exercise your body, strengthen your spirit, and have some fun.

Sign-Up