Clinical Psychology Faculty

Anthony Ahrens Associate Professor CAS - Psychology

Anthony Ahrens did his undergraduate work at Northwestern University and received his doctorate in psychology from Stanford University. His research interests fall at the interface of social and clini

  ahrens@american.edu

  (202) 885-1714

Nicole Caporino Assistant Professor CAS - Psychology

Dr. Caporino’s primary research interest is maximizing the efficacy of cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT) for anxiety and obsessive-compulsive disorders in children and adolescents. This involves iden

  caporino@american.edu

  (202) 885-6358

Michele Carter Professor CAS - Psychology

Dr. Carter received his doctorate and master’s degrees from Vanderbilt University and his bachelor’s degree from Georgia State University. He completed a clinical internship at the Palo Alto V.A. foll

  mcart@american.edu

  (202) 885-1712

Kathleen Gunthert Associate Professor CAS - Psychology

Dr. Gunthert’s program of research focuses on the influence of everyday stress and coping on depression, anxiety, and psychotherapy outcomes. Specifically, she has used intensive daily monitoring tech

  gunthert@american.edu

  (202) 885-1701

David Haaga Professor and Department Chair, Psychology CAS - Psychology

Dave Haaga is a Professor of Psychology and has been a faculty member at American University since 1989. Dr. Haaga received his PhD in clinical psychology from the University of Southern California an

  dhaaga@american.edu

  (202) 885-1718

Nathaniel Herr Assistant Professor CAS - Psychology

Nathaniel Herr is an Assistant Professor of Psychology who joined the department in 2012. Dr. Herr received his PhD in Clinical Psychology from the University of California, Los Angeles and received p

  nherr@american.edu

  (202) 885-1724

Laura Juliano Professor CAS - Psychology

Laura M. Juliano earned her PhD. in Clinical Psychology from the State University of New York at Binghamton and completed a post-doctoral fellowship at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. Her

  juliano@american.edu

  (202) 885-1715

Brian Yates Professor CAS - Psychology

Dr. Yates has published or has in-press 94 articles, book chapters, and online pieces, including 5 books. Most of his publications apply cost-effectiveness or cost-benefit analysis to the systematic e

  byates@american.edu

  (202) 885-1727