Behavior, Cognition, and Neuroscience Faculty

Victoria Connaughton Associate Professor

Dr. Connaughton’s research interests encompass the disciplines of developmental biology (nervous system development) and neurobiology. Specifically, she is interested in examining the relation between

  vconn@american.edu

  (202) 885-2188

Stefano Costanzi Associate Professor CAS - Chemistry

Dr. Costanzi's research interests mainly revolve around the application of computational techniques to the study of drug targets and the identification of molecules that modulate their activity. The m

  costanzi@american.edu

  (202) 885-1722

Terry Davidson Director of the Center for Behavioral Neuroscience and Professor CAS - Psychology

Dr. Davidson earned his undergraduate degree in Psychology at Michigan State University and earned his Ph.D. with a specialization in Learning and Memory at Purdue University before completing his pos

  terryd@american.edu

  (202) 885-6541

Kathleen Holton Assistant Professor CAS - Health Studies

Dr. Kathleen Holton is a nutritional neuroscientist. Her research examines the negative effects of dietary excitotoxins on neurological symptoms, as well as the positive protective effects of certai

  holton@american.edu

  (202) 885-3797

Laura Juliano Professor CAS - Psychology

Laura M. Juliano earned her PhD. in Clinical Psychology from the State University of New York at Binghamton and completed a post-doctoral fellowship at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. Her

  juliano@american.edu

  (202) 885-1715

David Kearns Associate Professor CAS - Psychology

Research interests:animal models of drug abuse and addiction treatment; the effects of drug cues on behavior; conditioning and learning; extinction; theories of learning; animal models of gambling.Rec

  kearns@american.edu

  (202) 885-1711

Mark Laubach Professor CAS - Biology

I am a neurobiologist interested in how groups of neurons work together to process information. My research has focused on the frontal cortex and basal ganglia and their roles in executive control and

  mark.laubach@american.edu

  (202) 885-2116

Zehra Peynircioglu Professor CAS - Psychology

Zehra Peynirciolu received her undergraduate degree in psychology from Stanford. She started graduate studies in cognitive psychology, specializing in memory, at Princeton (and received an MA) and fol

  peynir@american.edu

  (202) 885-1713

Anthony Riley Professor CAS - Psychology

Dr. Riley received his undergraduate training at the University of North Carolina and obtained his PhD from the University of Washington. He did a post-doctoral fellowship in pharmacology at Dalhousie

  alriley@american.edu

  (202) 885-1720

Colin Saldanha Professor CAS - Biology

Hormones are profound modulators of brain structure and function; with influences that span the lifetime of an organism. The muti-faceted and pluripotent neural effects of steroids require that a spec

  saldanha@american.edu

  (202) 885-2156

Alan Silberberg Professor CAS - Psychology

My research interests are animal learning, behavioral economics, primatology and smoking. Publications can be seen in Google Scholar as linked from my profile.

  asilber@american.edu

  (202) 885-1709

Catherine Stoodley Associate Professor CAS - Psychology

Catherine Stoodley is interested in the neuroscience of cognitive development, particularly the role of the human cerebellum in cognition, cognitive development and in neurodevelopmental disorders. Sh

  stoodley@american.edu

  (202) 885-1785

Bei Xiao Assistant Professor CAS - Computer Science

Professor Xiao studies human and machine perception of object properties in dynamic scenes. She did her undergraduate work in chemistry at Tsinghua University. She received her PhD in Neuroscience fro

  bxiao@american.edu

  (202) 885-6885

BCAN Associate Faculty

Anthony Ahrens Associate Professor CAS - Psychology

Anthony Ahrens did his undergraduate work at Northwestern University and received his doctorate in psychology from Stanford University. His research interests fall at the interface of social and clini

  ahrens@american.edu

  (202) 885-1714

Fernando Benadon Associate Professor CAS - Performing Arts

Fernando Benadon oversees the music theory & composition program in the Department of Performing Arts. More here: www.fernandobenadon.com

  fernando@american.edu

  (202) 885-3452

Maria Gomez Senior Professorial Lecturer CAS - Psychology

Dr. Gomez-Serrano was born and raised in Madrid where she obtained her Veterinarian degree specializing in animal husbandry and genetics. Right after obtaining her degree, Dr. Gomez-Serrano moved to W

  mgomez@american.edu

  (202) 885-2681

Kathleen Gunthert Associate Professor CAS - Psychology

Dr. Gunthert’s program of research focuses on the influence of everyday stress and coping on depression, anxiety, and psychotherapy outcomes. Specifically, she has used intensive daily monitoring tech

  gunthert@american.edu

  (202) 885-1701

David Haaga Professor and Department Chair, Psychology CAS - Psychology

Dave Haaga is a Professor of Psychology and has been a faculty member at American University since 1989. Dr. Haaga received his PhD in clinical psychology from the University of Southern California an

  dhaaga@american.edu

  (202) 885-1718

Nathaniel Herr Assistant Professor CAS - Psychology

Nathaniel Herr is an Assistant Professor of Psychology who joined the department in 2012. Dr. Herr received his PhD in Clinical Psychology from the University of California, Los Angeles and received p

  nherr@american.edu

  (202) 885-1724

Monika Konaklieva Associate Professor CAS - Chemistry

Dr. Konaklieva’s research is in the area of exploring different approaches for delaying of microbial resistance. Current projects include computer-aided design and synthesis of novel beta-lactams as w

  mkonak@american.edu

  (202) 885-1777

Cristel Russell Associate Professor KSB - Marketing

Professor Russell's research focuses on the social, psychological and cultural factors that influence the consumption of alcohol and other substances, especially amongst vulnerable populations (e.g.,

  russell@american.edu

  (202) 885-1929