Full-Time Faculty and Staff

Joanne Allen Professorial Lecturer CAS - Art

Joanne Allen is Professorial Lecturer of art history; she teaches General Education courses as well as more specialized courses on Medieval art, Renaissance art, and the history of architecture, with

  jmallen@american.edu

  (202) 885-6822

Juliet Bellow Associate Professor CAS - Art

Juliet Bellow’s current research centers on the relationship between art and dance in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Her book Modernism on Stage: The Ballets Russes and the Parisian Avant-Gar

  bellow@american.edu

  (202) 885-6477

Kim Butler Wingfield Associate Professor CAS - Art

Professor Butler (PhD with distinction Johns Hopkins University 2003, BA with honors, Harvard University 1992) is Assistant Professor of Renaissance and Baroque Art History in American University in t

  butler@american.edu

  (202) 885-1569

Nika Elder Assistant Professor

Nika Elder specializes in North American art from the colonial period to the present, including African-American art and the history of photography. She is particularly interested in the politics of a

  nelder@american.edu

Helen Langa Associate Professor CAS - Art

Professor Helen Langa teaches a sequence of courses on American Art from the colonial era to the late 20th century with an emphasis on issues related to national identity, politics, race, gender, and

  hlanga@american.edu

  (202) 885-1682

Andrea Pearson Associate Professor CAS - Art

Renowned for her revisionist publications on art and gender in the early modern Low Countries, Andrea Pearson is pursuing several projects aimed to rewrite the art-historical record on social marginal

  pearson@american.edu

  (202) 885-3428

Ying-Chen Peng Assistant Professor CAS - Art

Dr. Peng specializes in late imperial and modern Chinese art history with a focus on gender issues and globalization of material culture. Before joining the American University she worked at the Natio

  peng@american.edu

Samuel Sadow Visual Resources Curator CAS - Art

Sam Sadow is the Visual Resources Curator in the Art Department of American University. His roles include managing the department's growing digital image collection, supporting faculty in their image

  ssadow@american.edu

  (202) 885-1675

Emerita Faculty

Norma Broude Professor Emerita CAS - Art

A pioneering feminist scholar and specialist in nineteenth-century French and Italian painting, Norma Broude is known for critical reassessments of Impressionism and the work of Degas, Caillebotte, Ca

  nbroude@american.edu

  (202) 885-1670

Mary Garrard Professor Emerita

Best known for her groundbreaking feminist scholarship, Garrard has drawn on feminist theory and activism to illuminate and reinterpret art of the Italian Renaissance-Baroque period. Her publications

  mgarrar@american.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Sybil Gohari Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Sybil E. Gohari, PhD, is an art historian specializing in 20th century art of the United States, with a focus on the correlation of race and gender to the critical, market and academic success of arti

  gohari@american.edu

Sarah Gordon Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

After obtaining her PhD from Northwestern University, Sarah Gordon spent seven years in the Department of Photographs at the National Gallery of Art. There, she contributed to several major exhibition

  sgordon@american.edu

Anne Richter Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Anne Nellis Richter's field of specialization is British art of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. She is particularly interested in the art of the Romantic and Realist periods, and has a longst

  arichter@american.edu